Fifteen credit hours every year - including 3 required hours of legal ethics.
All 15 credit hours. To see a list of MCLE courses offered in Texas please click the following link: Texas Course List
All of our online and downloadable on-demand MCLE courses have been approved for MCLE credit by the State Bar of Texas MCLE Department.
Reporting Cycle: Annual
Compliance Deadlines: Last day of month preceding birth month
Reporting Deadline: Last day of month of attorney's birth month
Newly admitted attorneys must complete "A Guide to the Basics of Law Practice" in addition to the regular Texas MCLE requirement.
"A Guide to the Basics of Law Practice" is only offered by the Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism. Newly admitted attorneys may complete Attorney Credits' MCLE courses to fulfill their regular portion of the Texas MCLE requirement.
Yes, 15 hour may be carried over, including 3 hours of legal ethics.
No. Texas attorneys monitor their own progress and verify their own completion once the course has been completed.
Yes, Attorney Credits does report your completed courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send completed lists to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. However, since Texas is a self-reporting state you must verify the receipt of this compliance information because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas.
PLEASE NOTE: We report on Monday for all courses completed the previous Monday 12:00:01 AM to Sunday 12:59:59 PM. Therefore, if your deadline is Thursday and you finish your courses on Tuesday you must self-report the courses to the State Bar of Texas yourself, since the next time we report, your deadline will have passed. We are not responsible if your courses are submitted past your reporting deadline. To self report your MCLE hours please click this link: https://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=MyPage&Template=/Security/Login.cfm
Your MCLE Annual Verification Report will be mailed to you 8 weeks prior to your birth month. You must review this report carefully for both accuracy and completeness. If the Verification Report indicates that you have completed the required MCLE hours, then no further action is required. If you have NOT completed or reported the minimum 15 hours by the last day of your compliance period, the State Bar of Texas will send you a reminder Notice by the beginning of your birth month. This period is considered a grace period and you will be given this period in order to comply with the MCLE requirements without a penalty. If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of MCLE by the last day of your birth month grace period then you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty.
You can view your transcript online and report hours on My Bar Page on the State Bar of Texas website: https://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=MyPage&Template=/Security/Login.cfm
For more information about MCLE in Texas, please call the State Bar of Texas MCLE Department at (512) 427-1806 or visit the State Bar of Texas MCLE webpage: https://www.texasbar.com/Content/NavigationMenu/ForLawyers/MCLE1/YourMCLEHours/default.htm
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the Texas MCLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
Total MCLE Credits Required: 15
Total Online Credits Allowed: 15
Legal Ethics OR Professionalism - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 3
Reporting Cycle: 1 year
Compliance Deadline: Last day of month preceding birth month
Reporting Deadline: Last day of birth month
Attorney Credits lets you study your Texas CLE courses from just about anywhere – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! You can study your TX CLE courses with most computers, laptops, smartphones and tablets from the comfort of your home or law office, or even while you are on-the-go! There is no limit to the amount of TX CLE hours that Texas attorneys can earn by viewing or listening to on-demand online and offline TX CLE courses. Attorney Credits is an Accredited CLE Sponsor in Texas (#12507) and our participatory CLE courses have been approved by the State Bar of Texas. Texas attorneys may earn all 15 required TX CLE hours from Attorney Credits, including all 3 required hours of legal ethics credits.
Each active member of the State Bar of Texas that has been licensed for two years must complete 15 CLE hours annually, including 3 hours in the area of legal ethics. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born and ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth. Every Texas attorney has an automatic grace period to complete and report mandatory CLE hours for the Texas Continuing Legal Education compliance year. This CLE grace period runs until the end of the birth month. Failing to timely complete and report 15 TX CLE hours could result in non-compliance penalties between $100-$300. Texas attorneys can satisfy all CLE requirements through Attorney Credits' streaming video, MP3 and Video Download TX CLE courses that have been pre-approved for participatory CLE credit by the State Bar of Texas.