Twenty-four credit hours every 2 years - including 4 required hours of legal ethics.
All of our online and downloadable on-demand CLE courses have been approved for CLE credit by the Supreme Court of New Jersey Board on Continuing Legal Education. To see a list of CLE courses offered in New Jersey please click the following link: New Jersey Course List
Twelve credit hours may be completed through online on-demand CLE courses each 2 year compliance period. Certain non-resident attorneys or attorneys that qualify for the medical exception may complete all required 24 credit hours by completing online on-demand CLE programming. For more information about the exceptions see the information below or click here: https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attorneys/attclefaq.html.
If you qualify for this exception you may satisfy all 24 required NJ CLE credit hours through online CLE courses. To qualify you must:
(1) Reside in
(2) Work in
(3) And be licensed in EITHER a mandatory CLE state that allows for 100% of the CLE requirement to be taken through online CLE courses OR a state with no mandatory CLE requirement.
Please contact the Supreme Court of New Jersey Board on Continuing Legal Education to ensure that you qualify for this exception.
New Jersey attorneys that have a serious medical condition may apply for an exception to complete all 24 required CLE credit hours through online CLE courses. A licensed physician must certify to the Supreme Court of New Jersey Board on Continuing Legal Education that the attorney is unable to attend live CLE courses.
Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadline: December 31
Reporting Deadline: December 31
Compliance Group 1: Attorneys whose birthdays fall between January 1 - June 30 must certify their compliance in each EVEN numbered years.
Compliance Group 2: Attorneys whose birthdays fall between July 1 - December 31 must certify their compliance in each ODD numbered years.
Yes. In the first full 2 year compliance period, newly admitted New Jersey attorneys must take 15 credit hours in any 5 of the following 9 subject areas: New Jersey basic estate administration, New Jersey basic estate planning, New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation, New Jersey family law practice, New Jersey real estate closing procedures, New Jersey trust and business accounting, New Jersey landlord/tenant practice, New Jersey municipal court practice, and NJ law office management.
No. Attorney Credits does not offer courses for newly admitted attorneys in New Jersey.
Yes, up to 12 credit hours may be carried over to the next compliance period.
Yes, under the New Jersey CLE Requirements we must monitor your completion of the course. For online streaming video courses you must click on randomly inserted pop ups to confirm that you are viewing the video. For downloadable courses we have embedded numeric codes in the courses. You must write these numbers down and then enter them on our website after you complete the course to obtain your course certificate. Please note that the date you enter the codes and get the certificate is the date that will be printed on the certificate.
No. Attorney Credits does not report your completed courses to the Supreme Court of New Jersey Board on Continuing Legal Education. We do maintain a record of all your completed courses and you can access your certificates of completion at anytime from our website.
You must report your compliance through the Court's website at: https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/cams.html.
For more information about CLE in New Jersey, please call the Supreme Court of New Jersey Board on Continuing Legal Education at (609) 815-2900 or visit the Supreme Court of New Jersey Board on Continuing Legal Education webpage: https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attorneys/attcle.html
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the New Jersey CLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
Total MCLE Credits Required: 24
Total Online Credits Allowed: 12
Legal Ethics - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 4
Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadline: Dec. 31
Reporting Deadline: Dec. 31
Attorney Credits is an Accredited Provider of CLE in New Jersey. All of our New Jersey Continuing Legal Education courses have been pre-approved for CLE credit by the NJ CLE CLE Board. Our on-demand NJ CLE programs are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you can study your NJ CLE courses from most computers, laptops, smartphones & tablets. You can choose streaming video NJ CLE courses if you want to study online or you can download your NJ CLE courses as an MP3 or video download CLE course and study offline. Without a medical or non-resident exception, New Jersey attorneys may only complete 12 of the required 24 CLE hours through online New Jersey CLE courses.
New Jersey attorneys must complete 24 hours of NJ CLE every 2 years, including at least 4 hours of legal ethics. The New Jersey CLE compliance and reporting deadline is December 31. Online CLE courses in New Jersey are considered "Internet computer self-study" and fall under alternative verifiable learning formats. BCLE Reg. 201:4 states that alternate verifiable learning format courses in New Jersey are limited to one-half of the total credit requirement in any NJ CLE compliance period. However, some attorneys may be able to complete all 24 required NJ CLE hours through online New Jersey Continuing Legal Education courses. According to Rule 201:8(a), Under BCLE 201:8 lawyers admitted to the New Jersey Bar Association who (1) reside in (2) work in, and (3) are licensed in a state with no CLE requirement OR a mandatory CLE state that allows for 100% of CLE courses to be completed through online CLE courses may satisfy all 24 NJ CLE hours through online courses