Twelve and a half credit hours every year - including 1 hour of ethics and 1 hour of professionalism.
A maximum of 4 credit hours each year. To see a list of MCLE courses offered in Louisiana please click the following link: Louisiana Course List
All of our online on-demand MCLE courses have been approved for MCLE credit by the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education.
Reporting Cycle: Annual
Compliance Deadline: December 31
Reporting Deadline: January 31
Newly admitted attorneys must complete 12.5 hours, including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law office management.
Yes, we offer ethics, professionalism and law office management courses. The Louisiana MCLE Rules allow attorneys to complete up to 4 hours of on-demand CLE programs each compliance period.
Yes, up to 8 credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period. Carryover hours must be reported in the Annual Report of compliance for the year in which they were earned AND must be designated as hours to be carried forward. Ethics and Professionalism can only be carried over as general hours.
Yes, under the Louisiana MCLE Requirements we must monitor your course attendance and completion. For online streaming video courses you must click on randomly inserted pop ups during the video to confirm that you are viewing the course.
Yes, Attorney Credits does report your completed courses to the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education. We will report your course attendance within 30 days of course completion. We report on the 1st and 15th of every month. In addition, we also maintain a record of all your completed courses and you can access your certificates of completion at anytime from our website.
The Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education will send you a preliminary MCLE compliance report by December 1. The preliminary report will list your record of MCLE compliance for that year. If the Preliminary Transcript is not accurate, you must report any outstanding hours to the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education no later than January 31. Before March 15 the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education will send you a final transcript of compliance for the preceding year. If you are in compliance and the transcript is accurate, then you do not need to take any further action. If you are deficient MCLE hours or there is an error, you must cure any deficiency and/or correct any errors in the final transcript and send it to the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education with a written explanation of the errors by March 31.
For more information about MCLE in Louisiana, please call the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education at (504) 828-1414 or visit the Louisiana Committee on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education webpage: https://www.lascmcle.org/
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the Louisiana MCLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
To see our General FAQ, please click the following link: http://www.attorneycredits.com/generalFAQ.php
Total MCLE Credits Required: 12.5
Total Online Credits Allowed: 4
Legal Ethics - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 1
Professionalism - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 1
Reporting Cycle: 1 year
Compliance Deadline: 31-Dec
Reporting Deadline: 31-Jan
Attorney Credits has the courses you need to complete your mandatory Louisiana CLE requirement! All of Attorney Credits courses have been pre-approved by the Louisiana State Bar CLE Committee so you don't have to worry about your CLE credit being accepted. Attorneys may complete up to 4 CLE hours online to count towards the annual 12.5 hour Louisiana CLE requirements. Online CLE courses are considered "technologically assisted programming" under the Louisiana CLE Rules. The following CLE media formats qualify as technologically assisted programming in Louisiana: streaming video, MP3 and Video Download. Additionally, each Louisiana CLE course has corresponding high-quality written materials that include practice documents, statutes, case law and commentary.
Louisiana attorneys must complete 12.5 CLE hours each annual LA CLE compliance period, including 1 hour of ethics and 1 hour of professionalism. Louisiana attorneys must complete all Louisiana CLE requirement hours by December 31 and return the preliminary transcript to the CLE Committee no later than January 31 in order to timely report Louisiana State Bar CLE compliance. An annual report (final transcript) will be sent to you by the LA CLE Committee no later than March 15. A $150 late fee will be assessed against members of the Louisiana State Bar Association who do not comply with the CLE Rules. Any attorney who is not in compliance with the mandatory Louisiana CLE requirements within 60 days of the Notice of Noncompliance being sent by the CLE Committee will be declared ineligible to practice law in Louisiana.