Ten credit hours every year - including 2 required hours of legal ethics.
A maximum of 6 credit hours each year. To see a list of MCLE courses offered in Rhode Island please click the following link: Rhode Island Course List
All of our online on-demand MCLE courses have been approved for MCLE credit by the Rhode Island MCLE Commission.
Reporting Cycle: Annual
Compliance Deadlines: June 30
Reporting Deadline: June 30
Newly admitted lawyers must complete the Bridge the Gap program by the end of the first full calendar year after the attorney is admitted to the Rhode Island Bar Association.
No. The Bridge the Gap program is only presented by the Rhode Island Bar Association.
Yes, up to 10 credit hours may be carried over to the next compliance period.
Yes, under the Rhode Island MCLE Requirements we must monitor your completion of the course. For online streaming video courses you must click on randomly inserted pop ups to confirm that you are viewing the video.
Yes, Attorney Credits does report your completed courses to the Rhode Island MCLE Commission. We will report your course attendance within 30 days of course completion. We report on the 1st and 15th of every month. In addition, we also maintain a record of all your completed courses and you can access your certificates of completion at anytime from our website.
You must report your Rhode Island MCLE compliance on the Rhode Island Supreme Court Attorney Portal no later than June 30. To access the Rhode Island Supreme Court Attorney Portal please click here: https://riap.courts.ri.gov/riap/welcomepage.do;jsessionid=9279A4529765657AB59A956EB9A23F94.node2
For more information about MCLE in Rhode Island, please call the Rhode Island MCLE Commission at (401) 222-4942 or visit the Rhode Island MCLE Commission webpage: https://www.ribar.com/continuing%20legal%20education/continuinglegaleducation.aspx
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the Rhode Island MCLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
Total MCLE Credits Required: 10
Total Online Credits Allowed: 6
Legal Ethics - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 2
Reporting Cycle: 1 year
Compliance Deadline: 30-Jun
Reporting Deadline: 30-Jun
With Attorney Credits convenient on-demand Rhode Island continuing legal education (CLE) courses, you can complete your RI CLE requirement on your own schedule from the comfort of your own home or office! You can access AttorneyCredits.com and complete your RI continuing legal education courses on most computers, laptops, tablets and smartphones so you can study your CLE courses where and when it’s convenient for you! Attorney Credits’ online streaming video courses have all been pre-approved for Rhode Island CLE credit by the Rhode Island Supreme Court. Under the CLE Rules, Rhode Island attorneys may complete up to 3 RI CLE hours each year through online Rhode Island CLE courses as part of the annual 10 credit hour Rhode Island CLE requirement.
Rhode Island attorneys must complete 10 CLE hours each annual CLE compliance period, including 2 hours of legal ethics. The CLE compliance period begins on July 1 and ends on June 30 of your reporting year. The deadline to report CLE compliance is also June 30. If your CLE hours are not completed by June 30, you may be subject to fines and suspension and you will still have to attend the required CLE hours to meet your CLE requirement. Rhode Island attorneys may complete up to 3 hours of CLE credit per year earned through online on-demand CLE courses that have been pre-approved by the Rhode Island Supreme Court. Attorney Credits is approved by the Rhode Island Supreme Court to provide online CLE courses in the state of Rhode Island and all of Attorney Credits’ RI CLE courses have been approved for RI CLE credit.