Twenty-four credit hours every 2 years - including 4 required hours of Enhanced Ethics.
A maximum of 12 credit hours each compliance period. To see a list of CLE courses offered in Delaware please click the following link: Delaware Course List.
All of our online and downloadable on-demand CLE courses have been approved for CLE credit by the Delaware State Bar Commission on Continuing Legal Education.
Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadline: December 31
Reporting Deadline: February 1
Yes, the CLE requirement for a newly admitted attorney begins on January 1 following the year after the attorney is admitted to the Delaware State Bar Association. Newly admitted attorneys must attend Fundamentals of Lawyer-Client Relations in addition to 2 of the following 5 courses: Fundamentals of Family Law, Fundamentals of Real Estate, Fundamentals of Civil Litigation, Fundamentals of Will Drafting and Estate Administration and Fundamentals of Law Practice Management and Technology.
No. The Fundamentals courses are only offered by the Delaware State Bar Association.
Yes, credit hours may be carried over to the next compliance period.
If you have a CLE requirement of 24 credit hours, you can carry over up to 20 credit hours to the following period. However, you CANNOT carry over Enhanced Ethics credit hours.
If you are a senior attorney and have a requirement of 12 credit hours, the most you can carry over is 10 credit hours.
If you are a newly admitted attorney or an attorney resuming active practice, you may carry over 20 credit hours to the following compliance period.
Yes, under the Delaware CLE Requirements we must monitor your completion of the course. For online streaming video courses you must click on randomly inserted pop ups during the video to confirm that you are viewing the course. For downloadable CLE courses we have embedded numeric codes in the courses. You must write these number codes down and then enter them on our website after you complete the course to obtain your course certificate. Please note that the date you enter the codes and get the certificate is the date that will be printed on the certificate.
Yes, Attorney Credits does report your course attendance to the Delaware State Bar Commission on Continuing Legal Education. Our automated attendance reports run on the 1st and 15th of each month and we report through the Delaware website normally within two business days of the report running. In addition, we also maintain a record of all your completed courses and you can access your certificates of completion at anytime from our website.
Delaware attorneys use a Transcript to report CLE compliance. The Delaware Commission on Continuing Legal Education mails the Transcript to all Delaware attorneys along with the Delaware Supreme Court Annual Registration Statement. Attorneys must sign and return the Transcript no later than February 1 of the reporting year. Attorneys are responsible for verifying the information shown on the Transcript and making any necessary changes.
For more information about CLE in Delaware, please call the Delaware Commission on Continuing Legal Education at (302) 577-7040 or visit the Delaware Commission on Continuing Legal Education website: http://courts.delaware.gov/cle.
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the Delaware CLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
Total MCLE Credits Required: 24
Total Online Credits Allowed: 12
Legal Ethics - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 4
Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadline: 31-Dec
Reporting Deadline: 1-Feb
Attorney Credits is an Approved Provider of CLE in Delaware - so you never have to worry about your CLE credit being accepted. Using the state-of-the-art AttorneyCredits.com website you can complete your Delaware Continuing Legal Education courses online or offline, any time of the day or night! You can complete your DE CLE courses from most computers, laptops, smartphones and tablets in the following media formats: streaming video, MP3 and Video Download. Attorneys can complete up to 12 CLE hours through Attorney Credits online Delaware CLE courses each compliance period, including all 4 Enhanced Ethics credits.
Attorneys who are members of the Delaware State Bar Association must complete 24 CLE credit hours by December 31 each 2 year compliance cycle. Of the 24 required CLE credit hours for Delaware, 4 hours must be in the area of Enhanced Ethics.All DE CLE credits must be completed by December 31 and the CLE Transcript must be received by the Delaware CLE Commission by March 31. Online Delaware CLE courses are considered self-study credits. Delaware attorneys may satisfy up to 12 self-study Delaware bar CLE credits, including 4 Enhanced Ethics credits through online CLE courses. Delaware attorneys face financial penalties and possible disciplinary action if CLE credit is not completed and reported within the proscribed deadlines.