None. There is currently no minimum continuing legal education (MCLE) requirement for attorneys in Massachusetts.
Massachusetts attorneys are encouraged to complete CLE courses in order to maintain their competence to practice law (See Massachusetts Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 1.1, Comment ). Some providers of professional liability insurance also offer a discount for attorneys who complete CLE in non-mandatory states.
Newly admitted attorneys are required to take Practicing with Professionalism within 18 months of admission. This course is a one-day, in-person course which Attorney Credits does not offer.
Attorneys may take as many CLE courses as they need to fulfill their ethical duties and maintain their competence to practice law.
No. Massachusetts attorneys monitor their own progress and verify their own completion once the course has been completed.
For more information about CLE in Massachusetts, please call the Board of Bar Overseers Attorney Registration Department at (617) 728-8700 or visit the Massachusetts Board of Bar Overseers website: https://massbbo.org.
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about Massachusetts CLE, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
There are no Massachusetts Bar CLE requirements at this time.
Attorney Credits state-of-the art CLE website is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year – so you can complete your Massachusetts CLE courses when and where it’s convenient for you! With CLE Your Way, you can complete your Massachusetts CLE courses on most computers, laptops, tablets & smartphones. If you prefer to study online you can take streaming video CLE courses. Or you can download your MA CLE courses as an MP3 or Video Download CLE course and study your Massachusetts CLE just about anywhere. Attorney Credits is an approved provider of CLE around the country and we currently offer continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys in 48 states. We make it easy, convenient and affordable to complete your MA CLE courses online!
Lawyers in Massachusetts may take as many online Massachusetts CLE credit hours as needed to remain competent to practice law.
Massachusetts is one of the few non-mandatory continuing legal education (CLE) states in the country. However, while there is currently no minimum continuing legal education (MCLE) requirement for attorneys admitted to the Massachusetts Bar Association, Massachusetts attorneys are encouraged to complete MA CLE courses in order to maintain their continued competence to practice law in Massachusetts (see: Comment  to Rule 1.1 of the Massachusetts Rules of Professional Conduct). Some professional liability insurance carriers also offer discounted rates for attorneys in Massachusetts that complete certain MA CLE courses. For example, ALPS generally offers a 10% credit for each attorney in a law firm that completes 3 CLE credit hours annually in the areas of Legal Ethics, Loss Prevention, Risk Management or Office Management. Stay competent to practice law in Massachusetts and save money on your legal malpractice insurance at the same time - sign up with Attorney Credits today and you can start studying your Massachusetts CLE courses in minutes!