Twelve credit hours every year - including 2 required hours of legal ethics/professionalism.
No, there is no special requirement for newly admitted attorneys.
Newly admitted attorneys must complete the 12 required MCLE hours in the calendar year following their admission to the Connecticut Bar Association. For example, Connecticut lawyers admitted in 2017 are not required to complete the MCLE requirement until 2018. If newly admitted attorneys complete MCLE courses in the year in they are admitted or certified, then they can carry over two hours of credits to the following year.
All 12 credit hours. To see a list of MCLE courses offered in Connecticut please click the following link: Connecticut Course List.
There is no formal approval process for MCLE courses or providers. If an MCLE provider’s courses have been approved in another state, then the provider’s courses are automatically approved in Connecticut. Because Attorney Credits’ offers MCLE courses in 48 states and we are approved providers in numerous states, our courses qualify for MCLE credit in Connecticut.
Reporting Cycle: Annual
Compliance Deadline: December 31
Reporting Deadline: March 10
Yes, up to 2 credit hours may be carried over to the next compliance period.
No, Connecticut attorneys monitor their own progress and verify their own completion once the course has been completed.
No. Attorney Credits does not report your completed courses to the State of Connecticut Grievance Committee. Connecticut attorneys are required to self-report their MCLE compliance on the annual registration form. We do maintain a record of all your completed courses and you can access your certificates of completion at anytime from our website.
Connecticut attorneys are required to self-report their overall MCLE compliance on the annual registration form that is mailed in January.
For more information about MCLE in Connecticut, please call the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch at (860) 568-5157 or visit the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch webpage: https://www.jud.ct.gov/mcle.
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the Connecticut MCLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
Total MCLE Credits Required: 12
Total Online Credits Allowed: 12
Legal Ethics - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 2
Reporting Cycle: 1 year
Compliance Deadline: 31- Dec
Reporting Deadline: 10 - Mar
Using AttorneyCredits.com, Connecticut attorneys can complete Connecticut CLE courses any time of the day or night -- 7 days a week, 365 days a year! You can complete your required 12 CT MCLE hours on most computers, laptops, smartphones & tablets. You may choose from Connecticut CLE courses in the following media formats: streaming video, audio and video Download. Attorney Credits makes completing your Connecticut CLE requirements easy, convenient and affordable!
The new Connecticut MCLE requirement will ensure that lawyers keep current with constantly evolving substantive and procedural law. Connecticut attorneys may complete all required 12 CT MCLE credit hours by completing downloadable and online CLE classes, including 2 legal ethics hours. Connecticut attorneys must self-report their MCLE compliance to the State of Connecticut Grievance Committee. Please note that there is no formal approval process for organizations that want to provide MCLE courses in Connecticut. If an organization's MCLE program or course has been approved by the authority authorized to approve MCLE courses in another jurisdiction, then the organization's MCLE course is automatically approved in Connecticut. Our courses are approved in 48 states and we help thousands of attorneys every year with their MCLE compliance. Therefore, our courses will help you meet the Connecticut CLE requirements.