Twenty-four credit hours every 2 years - including 3 required hours in the areas of legal ethics, law office management, substance abuse and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession.
A maximum of 12 credit hours. To see a list of all the West Virginia MCLE courses we offer, browse our West Virginia State Bar CLE classes. West Virginia Course State Bar CLE classes.
Attorney Credits is an Approved Provider of MCLE in West Virginia. All of our online on-demand MCLE courses have been approved for MCLE credit by the West Virginia Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Commission.
Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadlines: June 30
Reporting Deadline: July 31
Newly admitted attorneys are required to complete a mandatory Bridge the Gap seminar sponsored by the West Virginia State Bar within 24 months after admission to the West Virginia State Bar.
The mandatory Bridge the Gap seminar is only sponsored by the West Virginia State Bar. However, newly admitted attorneys can complete the 12 required hours through Attorney Credits, including legal ethics, office management, substance abuse, and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession courses.
Yes, a maximum of 6 carryover hours can be carried over to the next reporting period. Please note that that the following credit hours may NOT be carried over: legal ethics, office management, substance abuse and elimination of bias in the legal profession.
Yes, under the West Virginia MCLE Requirements we must monitor your completion of the course. For online streaming video courses you must click on randomly inserted pop ups to confirm that you are viewing the video. For downloadable courses we have embedded numeric codes in the courses. You must write these numbers down and then enter them on our website after you complete the course to obtain your course certificate. Please note that the date you enter the codes and get the certificate is the date that will be printed on the certificate.
Yes, Attorney Credits does report your completed courses to the West Virginia Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Commission. Our automated attendance reports run on the 1st and 15th of every month. In addition, we also maintain a record of all your completed courses and you can access your certificates of completion at anytime from our website.
You can review your MCLE transcript on the West Virginia State Bar website: https://www.mywvbar.org/my_data.
On or before July 31 of your reporting year you must file a report of completion of your MCLE activities through the member portal at: https://www.mywvbar.org/.
For more information about MCLE in West Virginia, please call the West Virginia MCLE Department at (304) 553-7328 or visit the West Virginia MCLE webpage: http://www.wvbar.org/members/mcle.
You may also contact Attorney Credits by phone. For further assistance and information about the West Virginia MCLE requirement, please call our Support Center at (760) 434-1885.
Total MCLE Credits Required: 24
Total Online Credits Allowed: 12
Elimination of Bias OR Legal Ethics OR Substance Abuse OR Legal Ethics - Minimum Credit Hours Per Cycle: 3
Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadline: 30-Jun
Reporting Deadline: 31-Jul
With Attorney Credits’ convenient on-demand West Virginia continuing legal education (CLE) courses, West Virginia attorneys can complete their CLE requirement on their own schedule from the comfort of their own home or office! You can access AttorneyCredits.com and complete your online courses on most computers, laptops, tablets and smartphones so you can study your West Virginia CLE courses where it's convenient for you! Attorney Credits streaming video, MP3 and Video Download courses have all been approved for credit by the West Virginia CLE State Bar. Under the West Virginia State Bar CLE Rules, attorneys may complete up to 12 hours by completing online CLE courses each 2 year compliance period.
West Virginia attorneys must complete 24 WV CLE hours each 2 year compliance period, including 3 hours of legal ethics. The West Virginia CLE compliance period begins on July 1 and ends on June 30 of your reporting year. The deadline to report WV CLE compliance is July 31. If your WV CLE hours are not completed by July 31, you may be subject to fines and suspension and you will still have to attend the required WV CLE hours to meet your WV CLE requirement. West Virginia attorneys may complete up to 12 hours of WV CLE each year earned through online CLE courses that have been approved by the West Virginia State Bar. Attorney Credits is approved by the West Virginia State Bar to provide online CLE courses in the state of West Virginia and all of Attorney Credits’ WV CLE courses have been pre-approved for WV CLE credit.