Skip to main contentSkip to footer

West Virginia CLE Requirements

Stay compliant with the West Virginia State Bar CLE requirements. Find everything you need to know about credit hours, specialty credits, and reporting.


View WV BundlesView WV Courses

Attorney Credits is a West Virginia State Bar Approved Provider.
Trusted CLE Provider with over 3 million courses completed

West Virginia CLE at a Glance

West Virginia attorneys can complete all 24 required CLE hours online through Attorney Credits.

24 CLE Credits

24 total credit hours required every 2 years

3 Elimination of Bias or Legal Ethics or Substance Abuse Credits

3 Specialty Credit Hours required every 2 years

June 30 Deadline

Compliance Deadline is June 30 every 2 years

12 Live Credits

West Virginia requires 12 credit hours to be completed via live webinar

West Virginia CLE Requirements

Total CLE Hours: 24 credit hours

Total Online Credits Allowed: 24 credit hours

Specialty Requirements: 3 credit hours total, including 3 credit hours of Elimination of Bias, or Legal Ethics, or Substance Abuse.

Live Webinar Credits: 12 credit hours

Compliance Deadline: June 30

Reporting Deadline: July 31

Reporting Cycle: 2 years

State Reporting: We report your completed courses to the West Virginia State Bar. Our automated attendance reports run weekly on Thursday. On or before July 31 of your reporting year you must file a report of completion of your MCLE activities through the member portal at: https://www.mywvbar.org/.

Approved Provider

Additional Resources

  • WV State Bar Phone: 304-553-7220

Top West Virginia CLE Questions

Get quick answers to the most common questions about West Virginia CLE requirements

How many MCLE hours are required?

Twenty-four credit hours every 2 years - including 3 required hours in the areas of legal ethics, law office management, substance abuse and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession.

How many MCLE hours can I take through Attorney Credits?

All 24 credit hours. Virginia attorneys must complete 12 hours through live webinars.

How do Attorney Credits' MCLE courses qualify for credit in West Virginia?

Attorney Credits is an Approved Provider of MCLE in West Virginia. All of our live webinar & on-demand MCLE courses have been approved for MCLE credit by the West Virginia Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Commission.

What are my MCLE compliance and reporting requirements?

Reporting Cycle: 2 years
Compliance Deadlines: June 30
Reporting Deadline: July 31

What is the requirement for newly admitted attorneys?

Newly admitted attorneys are required to complete a mandatory Bridge the Gap seminar sponsored by the West Virginia State Bar within 24 months after admission to the West Virginia State Bar.

Does Attorney Credits offer courses for newly admitted attorneys?

The mandatory Bridge the Gap seminar is only sponsored by the West Virginia State Bar. However, newly admitted attorneys can complete the 12 required hours through Attorney Credits, including legal ethics, office management, substance abuse, and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession courses.

Meet Your CLE Requirements with Confidence

Thousands of attorneys trust Attorney Credits for high-quality, approved CLE courses and hassle-free compliance.